Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State University

Mershon Center for International Security Studies

The Edgar S. Furniss Book Award commemorates the founding director of the Mershon Center and is given annually to an author whose first book makes an exceptional contribution to the study of national and international security. The award will consider any work that makes a theoretical and policy impact on our understanding any of the following themes:

(1) The use of force and diplomacy
(2) The ideas, identities, and decisional processes that affect security
(3) The institutions that manage violent conflicts.

The winning author receives a cash award and is invited to address the faculty of the Mershon Center.  Previous winners of the Furniss Book Award include Aaron Friedberg, John Mearsheimer, and Stephen Walt.

See a list of winners and recordings of some of their talks

Nominations for the Furniss Book Award are accepted annually each year for books copyrighted in the previous year. For example, to nominate books for the 2018 Furniss Book Award, three non-returnable copies of each publication must be copyrighted in 2018 and received no later than April 30, 2019.

Edited volumes are not eligible, nor are books by current Mershon Center affiliates due to conflict of interest. We accept submissions from authors and publishers.  Please send books to:

Cathy Becker
Public Relations Coordinator
Mershon Center for International Security Studies
1501 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43201

If you have any questions, please contact Cathy Becker at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or (614) 292-7529.