Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State University

Mershon Center for International Security Studies

Events Calendar

Citizenship Speaker Series
Download as iCal file
Rebecca Scott
Freedom Papers: An Atlantic Odyssey in the Age of Emancipation
Friday, September 14, 2012, 03:00pm
Mershon Center
1501 Neil Ave
Columbus, OH, 43201

Rebecca Scott


3 p.m. -- Introductory remarks
Kevin Boyle, Professor of History

3:10 p.m. -- Graduate student critiques of Freedom Papers
Marcus Nevius, History and African and African American Studies
Nikki Baszynski, Moritz College of Law and Kirwan Institute
Hyeseon Jeong, Geography
Nyron N. Crawford,  Political Science

4 p.m. -- Remarks/Responses by Professor Scott

Open discussion / Q&A

About the Author

Rebecca J. Scott is the Charles Gibson Distinguished University Professor of History and Professor of Law at the University of Michigan.

Her most recent book, coauthored with Jean M. Hébrard, is Freedom Papers: An Atlantic Odyssey in the Age of Emancipation (Harvard University Press, 2012), which traces the theme of the law in slavery and freedom through the examination of one family across five generations. Her previous book, Degrees of Freedom: Louisiana and Cuba after Slavery (Harvard University Press, 2005), received the Frederick Douglass Prize and the John Hope Franklin Prize.

Among Scott's recent articles are "Paper Thin: Freedom and Re-enslavement in the Diaspora of the Haitian Revolution" (Law and History Review, November 2011); the coauthored essay "Rosalie of the Poulard Nation: Freedom, Law, and Dignity in the Era of the Haitian Revolution" (in Garrigus and Morris, Assumed Identities, 2010); "Public Rights, Social Equality, and the Conceptual Roots of the Plessy Challenge" (Michigan Law Review, 2008); and "The Atlantic World and the Road to Plessy v. Ferguson" (Journal of American History, 2007).

Scott received an AB from Radcliffe College, an MPhil in economic history from the London School of Economics, and a PhD in history from Princeton University. She is a recent recipient of the Guggenheim Fellowship and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.


JEvents v3.4.43 Stable   Copyright © 2006-2017