Each year, the Mershon Center for International Security Studies at The Ohio State University gives the Edgar S. Furniss Book Award to an author whose first book makes an exceptional contribution to the field of international security studies. The award commemorates the founding director of the Mershon Center, Edgar S. Furniss.

The Mershon Center is seeking nominations for the 2016 Furniss Book Award. The committee will consider any first book that makes a theoretical and policy impact on our understanding of any of the following themes:

  • Use of force and diplomacy.
  • Ideas, identities, and decisional processes that affect security.
  • Institutions that manage violent conflict.

The Furniss Book Award was given for the first time in 1983 and has been awarded to several of the field's most prominent scholars early in their careers. Previous winners include John Mearsheimer, Barry Posen, and Stephen Walt.

Please note that in order to be considered, the book must be the author's first and be copyrighted in 2016. Edited volumes are not eligible, nor are books by current Mershon Center affiliates due to conflict of interest. Copies of books submitted for the award cannot be returned. The deadline for receiving nominations for the 2016 award is May 31, 2017.

To nominate one or more books for the Furniss Book Award, please send three copies of each book to:

Cathy Becker
Public Relations Coordinator
Mershon Center for International Security Studies
1501 Neil Ave.
Columbus, OH  43201

If you have any questions, please contact Cathy Becker at (614) 292-7529 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..