Ohio State nav bar

Furniss Book Award

Furniss Award Image

The Edgar S. Furniss Book Award commemorates the founding director of the Mershon Center for International Security Studies at the Ohio State University. The award is conferred on a first book in English that makes an exceptional contribution to the understanding of international, national, and/or human security.

The committee will consider single- or co-authored first monographs from any relevant discipline. (In case of co-authorship, it must be the first monograph for both authors.) Submissions will be evaluated for original research, persuasive interpretation, theoretical contribution, and implications for policy or practice.

Books by current Mershon Center affiliates and former Mershon postdocs are not eligible for submission. Books translated from languages other than English are eligible, provided they are the author's first book.

The recipient is invited to visit Ohio State for the award presentation and an accompanying lecture; there is also a $2000 cash prize. Recipients since the award's inception in 1982 may be found here.

How to submit

Nominations for the Furniss Book Award are accepted each year for books published in the previous year. For the current cycle, each nominated book must be copyrighted in 2023 and received no later than April 30, 2024.

To respect the time of our committee, no press may submit more than two entries.

Submissions may be in hard copy or digital form. (If the book is selected for the Furniss Award, the publisher must also send the Mershon Center a hard copy upon request for our display.)

Hard copies: 4 copies to

Kyle McCray, Business and Operations Manager
Mershon Center for International Security Studies
1010 Derby Hall
154 N Oval Mall
Columbus, OH 43210

Digital copies:

  • Download instructions valid for four readers, OR
  • A clean PDF in full and final form, with a clickable Table of Contents
  • Send to Kyle McCray at mccray.44@osu.edu.